Sheikh Zayed Desert Learning Center
Project objectives The innovative building design is completed by a corresponding engineering design, an integrated and alternative energy supply concept as well as building system automation and IT infrastructure design.
Project data Usage: Exhibition area, theatre/cinema, café, office area; Peak visitor numbers: 2,750 pax per hour; Usable Area: 7,500 m², one interconnected space; Investment: 50 million EUR
Project content Within the master plan for the Al Ain Zoo, the Visitor Centre (Sheikh Zayed Desert Learning Centre – SZDLC) will be the first building to be developed. Furthermore, the master plan comprises a safari area, hotels, a shopping centre and residential areas.
Project specifics The Centre is located in the Arabian Desert. The aim was to achieve the highest building certification levels available for LEED TM (Platinum) and the local reference System Estidama (5 Pearls), and so emphasis was also put on the building physics design of the building.
Services CES (formerly iC CES) was responsible for the overall building services engineering design, the development of the integrated and alternative energy supply plan (incl. solar cooling) as well as of building system automation and IT infrastructure design. Furthermore CES supported the general planner in developing an innovative building design.

Sheikh Zayed Desert Learning Center
Ziele des Projekts Für das Besucherzentrum wurde ein innovatives Gebäudekonzept entwickelt, welches über eine alternative Energieversorgung sowie eine innovative Haus- und Elektrotechnik verfügt.
Projektkennzahl Nutzung: Ausstellungszentrum, Theater, Café, Büros; Frequenz: 2.750 Besucher pro Stunde; Nutzfläche: 7.500 m2, vorwiegend in einem Raum; Bauwert: 50 Mio. EUR
Projektinhalt Das Besucherzentrum (Sheikh Zayed Desert Learning Center – SZDLC) des Tierparks des Emirates Abu Dhabi ist das erste Objekt im Rahmen des Masterplans für die Neustrukturierung des Al Ain Wildlife Parks. Dieser umfasst neben dem eigentlichen Zoo auch Hotels, Safaribereiche, Einkaufszentren, Wohnbereiche und die zugehörige Infrastruktur.
Projektbesonderheiten Das Gebäude befindet sich in der arabischen Wüste. Höchste Ansprüche werden an die Nachhaltigkeit und damit auch an die Energieeffizienz gestellt. Für das Besucherzentrum wurde eine Zertifizierung nach dem ESTIDAMA und LEED™ Platinum Standard erreicht.
Leistungen Das Team der CES (früher iC CES) wurde mit der Planung und Ausschreibung der alternativen Energieversorgung (inkl. solare Kühlung) sowie der innovativen Haus- und Elektrotechnik beauftragt. Weiters wurde der Kunde in den Fachgebieten Bauphysik, energieeffizienter Betrieb, sowie Zertifizierung beraten.